Association of the Belgian Publishers

Adeb - Association of the Belgian Publishers

Aden

Bahbb1shogzmssilmjaxns8xmc8xmy8xnl8yov80mf85njvfywrlbi5qcgcgogzfvfsiogzwogp0ahvtykkiddiwmhgxmdagowzu

Why ‘Aden’ ?

‘Aden’ is the name of a city in Yemen, which is a topic in the work of Pierre Gascar, ‘Rimbaud et la Commune’, which particularly evokes the participation of the poet in the Commune de Paris in 1871. It was whilst reading this book that Gilles Martin had the idea to mix Rimbaldien sensuality with the energy of social revolt, a point of departure and guiding thread for his publishing project.

Aden is an independent publishing house based in Brussels. Founded in 2000 by Gilles Martin, it groups together, for the first time, the three parts of the book chain: publishing, book shops and distributing. Between 2006 and 2008, Aden has little by little began to delegate its distribution role, in order to concentrate on the publishing element, in particular regarding the development of its new collections: Opium du peuple, Rivière de Cassis, Passe-Mémoire, Fonds rouge, Label littérature… Today, Aden is, above all, a complete publishing house.

Les éditions Aden publishes essays in the fields of social and political sciences, and also in media studies : counter-histories, counter political thought, witness accounts, and decrypting religions are among the progressive approaches which feed our editorial projects. In tune with its Rimbaldien inspiration, and due to the social and political dimension additionally expressed in other genres than that of essays, Aden also publishes literature and works about images and graphic design.

With its graphical charter punch and a collection of more than 200 titles (several of which are by renowned authors such as Noam Chomsky, Jean Bricmont, Eric Hobsbawm, Serge Latouche, Jean-Marie Piemme…), les éditions Aden wants to encourage and advance critical discussion, by creating debate and bringing it to the tables of bookshops.

    • Foundation year: 2000
    • Member of:
      Espace Livres & Création member
  • Staff introduction:
    Responsable : Gilles Martin
  • Specialities:
    Social sciences, Literature
  • Numerical editions:
  • ISBN:
  • Titles number: 200
  • Titles number per year:
  • National Distribution: Les Belles Lettres Diffusion Distribution
  • Foreign distribution:
  • Publication languages: Français
  • Website: http://www.aden.be

Contact informations

Aden
Rue Gachard, 72
1050 Bruxelles

E-mail : gilles.aden@gmail.com
Téléphone : +32 (0)2 534 46 61

Numéro d'entreprise : BE 0458.925.509

Association des éditeurs belges

Adeb - Associations des éditeurs belges

Aden

Bahbb1shogzmssilmjaxns8xmc8xmy8xnl8yov80mf85njvfywrlbi5qcgcgogzfvfsiogzwogp0ahvtykkiddiwmhgxmdagowzu

Pourquoi "Aden" ?

Aden » est le nom d’une ville du Yémen, dont il est question dans l’ouvrage de Pierre Gascar, Rimbaud et la Commune, qui évoque en particulier la participation du poète à la Commune de Paris en 1871. C’est à la lecture de ce livre que Gilles Martin a eu l’idée de mêler la sensualité rimbaldienne à l’énergie de la révolte sociale, point de départ et fil conducteur du projet éditorial.

Aden est une maison d'édition indépendante dont le siège se trouve à Bruxelles. Fondée en 2000 par Gilles Martin, elle regroupe dans les premiers temps trois métiers de la chaîne du Livre : édition, librairie et diffusion-distribution. Entre 2006 et 2008, Aden délègue peu à peu la diffusion-distribution pour se concentrer sur le volet édition, avec, notamment, le développement de nouvelles collections: Opium du peuple, Rivière de Cassis, Passe-Mémoire, Fonds rouge, Label littérature… Aujourd’hui, Aden est avant tout une maison d’édition à part entière.

Les éditions Aden publient des essais dans le domaine des sciences sociales et politiques, et de l’étude des médias : contre-histoires, pensées politiques à contre-courant, témoignages, décryptage des religions sont autant de démarches progressistes qui nourrissent le projet éditorial. En accord avec son inspiration rimbaldienne, et parce que la dimension sociale et politique s’exprime aussi dans d’autres genres que celui de l’essai, Aden publie également de la littérature et des ouvrages traitant de l’image ou du graphisme.
Avec sa charte graphique coup de poing et un fonds de plus de deux cents titres (dont plusieurs signés par des auteurs réputés comme Noam Chomsky, Jean Bricmont, Eric Hobsbawm, Serge Latouche, Jean-Marie Piemme…), les éditions Aden souhaitent faire avancer la critique en créant le débat et en l’amenant sur les tables des librairies.

    • Année de fondation: 2000
    • Membre de:
      Membre d'Espace Livres & Création
  • Présentation du personnel:
    Responsable : Gilles Martin
  • Spécialité(s):
    Sciences humaines, Littérature
  • Editions numériques:
  • ISBN:
  • Nombre de titres au catalogue: 200
  • Nombre de titres par année:
  • Diffusion nationale: Les Belles Lettres Diffusion Distribution
  • Diffusion à l'étranger:
  • Langue(s) de publication: Français
  • Site internet: http://www.aden.be

Informations de contact

Aden éditions
Rue A. Bréart, 44
1060 Bruxelles

E-mail : gilles.aden@gmail.com
Téléphone : +32 (0)2 534 46 61